Cambridge Secondary 2 Syllabus

Cambridge IGCSE is the world’s most popular international qualification for 14 to 16 year olds. It provide broad and balanced study across a wide range of subjects, using learner-centered and enquiry-based approaches to learning.

It is recognized by leading universities and employers worldwide, and is an international passport to progression and success. Developed over 30 years ago, it is tried, tested and trusted by schools worldwide.
Cambridge IGCSE offers a flexible curriculum, with a choice of over 70 subjects in any combination.
Assessment takes place at the end of the course and includes written, oral, coursework and practical assessment.

There are over 70 subjects available at Cambridge IGCSE, including 30 languages, and schools can offer them in any combination. Cambridge IGCSE develops learner knowledge, understanding and skills in:

  1. Subject content
  2. Applying knowledge and understanding to new as well as unfamiliar situations
  3. Intellectual enquiry
  4. Flexibility and responsiveness to change
  5. Working and communicating in English
  6. Influencing outcomes
  7. Cultural awareness

What is the difference between IGCSE Core and IGCSE Extended?
To take account of differing abilities, there is a choice between Core and Extended papers in some IGCSE subjects. This allows teachers to decide on the most appropriate level of papers for their students.
The Core curriculum in each subject is within the ability range of a large majority of students. It provides a full overview of the subject and is targeted at students expected to achieve grades C to G.
The Extended curriculum, made up of the Core curriculum and the Supplement, has been designed for the more academically able and leads naturally into higher education or professional training. It is targeted at those expected to achieve grades A* to E. The Supplement describes the extra topics or depth which must be added to the Core curriculum to produce the Extended curriculum.
Students do not need to enter for the same level of curriculum in all subjects.
Target Grades Grades Available
Core Curriculum C D E F G
Extended Curriculum A* A B C D E
The overlap of three grades (C, D and E) is designed to accommodate students who perform either better or worse than their teachers expect. Students who fail to meet the minimum satisfactory standard for either the Core curriculum (Grade G) or the Extended curriculum (Grade E) will be ungraded.
In some subjects, the exam covers the complete ability range and there is no choice of Core and Extended papers. For these subjects, the full range of grades is available.
It is important to remember that Core covers grades C to G and Extended covers grades A* to E. If a student is securely in the ‘middle’ of the range, only the Extended tier will offer the grades the student may be capable of achieving. Students are not able to achieve above a C for their syllabus grade if they are entered for the Core curriculum.

Cambridge IGCSE subjects

Mathematics 0580
Chemistry 0620